I Have Grown Up Friends?

Over the weekend Kyle and I went up to visit some friends in Ogden. They were going out to eat for our friend Mike’s birthday and then getting together for fun and video planning (everybody there makes YouTube videos). Kyle and I were unable to make it to dinner. We aimed to get at their house at around the same time they got back from dinner, but they ended up being about 20 minutes late so we went to relieve the babysitter. They have a two year old and a four year old.

Kyle and I have only met them once before in person, and it’s been a few months so when we got there I looked at the four year old and asked “Do you remember us? We’re you’re parents friends.” He gave me a look that clearly said “Who the heck are you crazy people?” while saying “Yes, I remember.” We walked in and about five seconds later all of his suspicions were wiped away with a “Want to play volley ball with me?” I was afraid of breaking something with the ball, so I lightly kicked it to him on the floor and he says “This is volleyball, not soccer. You can’t kick a volleyball.”

The two year old is being potty trained, it turns out. Shortly after we arrived, he went into the bathroom, took his diaper off, and peed in the potty all by himself. When he finished, he took the old diaper to me and asked me to put it back on him. When I informed him that we needed to find a new diaper he took off across the house. Just as he was passing the door, Mike walked in to his two year old son wearing naught but a t-shirt and he just looked at Kyle.

In the same vein as some of my other “holy crap when did I grow up?” posts, at some point that evening I realized that Kyle and I have adult friends with kids who have a real job and live in a real house. It felt a bit surreal.

The next day we filmed a YouTube video where I played an innocent bystander who gets her cheeseburger stolen by a lumberjack. That one’s for you, Becca. I’m hoping it’ll be up soon so that my rise to fame that began with my starring role in a major music video can continue.

5 thoughts on “I Have Grown Up Friends?

    • The video’s not up yet, but I will be sure to let you know when it is! Also, this lumberjack is a special case of cheeseburger theft and organic cotton…you’ll just have to see it. Hopefully the video turned out as well as the idea behind it.

  1. Ha! This was fun to read. Every once in a while I remember that I hardly know you and kyle. But carla and I both talk about how much fun we have playing with you guys. I like to joke that our families “met online” but it’s true. I’ve learned a lot about you both from this thing called the internet. I guess it makes that friendship learning curve a little less steep.nd kyle. But carla and I both talk about how much fun we have playing with you guys. I like to joke that our families “met online” but it’s true. I’ve learned a lot about you both from this thing called the internet. I guess it makes that friendship learning curve a little less steep.

Leave a Reply

