Childhood Memories

Today after church, I dragged Kyle downstairs to watch some of my favorite movies from my childhood: the Winnie the Pooh featurettes. It’s always such a pleasure to see movies that I loved as a child that are still excellent as an adult. All of the jokes are whimsical and fun, the characters are charming, and it brings back that feeling of childhood when adults ask you what you’re doing and you can just say “Nothing.”

Some of the jokes, it turns out, I didn’t get when I was a kid. For example, above Piglet’s door is a broken sign that reads “Trespassers Will” with the sign cut off after Will. Piglet points to it and says “That’s my grandfather’s name–it’s short for Trespassers William. My grandmother used to call him T.W., which is even shorter!” I haven’t seen these movies in so long that I had forgotten this, and I didn’t get it as a child so it was that much funnier to me now.

And then there was Eeyore, whose tail fell off. After Christopher Robin reattaches it, some of the characters compliment him on what a nice tail it was. Eeyore says, “It’s not much of a tail, but I’m kind of attached to it.”

Kyle had seen the featurettes before, but it had been a while and it wasn’t the childhood mainstay for him that it was for me, so it was fun sharing that part of my past with him. I love Winnie the Pooh, and fully intend on sharing both the movies and the A. A. Milne books with my children when they are young. Momma and I talked about going to see the new Pooh movie tomorrow–I’ll let you know if that happens and what we think of it.

3 thoughts on “Childhood Memories

Leave a Reply

