Summer Woes

I love summer time. I love being able to relax and do whatever I wish. I’m a school teacher, so I get my summers off, which makes me incredibly happy. Summer time is the best part of my job.

However, like most good things in life, there is a slight downfall to it.

During summer, I have no minions.

Being the good school teacher that I am, I train my kiddos from the first day to be my own personal minions. They love it; I love it. It’s a win-win scenario! I get them to do all my dirty work under the guise of “helping the teacher,” which fills them with all sorts of joy.

One of their minion-y tasks is to clean out the snake cage. Despite being a slightly gross job, nobody ever complains. Upon occasion, they even fight over who gets to do it, which is fine by me because it means I’m not the one doing it.

But seeing as it is currently summer time, and my snake lives in my bedroom during the summer, this past week I found the cage in need of a good cleaning and no minions around to do it for me. Do you know what that means? I’ll tell you what it means. It means *I* had to clean the cage. Me! All by myself! Yes, I know I spent my childhood years cleaning out hamster cages, but I hated that job, too. Cleaning cages is just. . . not. . . fun. Some cleaning tasks (like doing dishes) are fun, but cage cleaning is not. Nevertheless, being minionless, I sat down and cleaned it.

I’m almost looking forward to school starting next week, if for no other reason than to regain my minions.

Eliza Childhood Story of the Day: When we were wee wee tots, we took a family vacation to Mountain Lake. Eliza was approximately two years old, give or take a year. One day, as she was toddling around our campsite, she came across a partially full can of beer. Being a naturally inquisitive child, she figured she needed to taste the contents of this can in order to discover what it was. That’s how Momma came across her little baby, sipping away at her can of beer. We’re not quite sure just how much she consumed.

One thought on “Summer Woes

  1. Re Eliza Childhood Story of the Day…
    When Eliza was in High School I was totally surprised at her incredible acting ability….to play a drunken sot! Now I know how she got her experience! ((())) ToniAnne

Leave a comment