Another Kyle Story

This semester, I’ve started a dinner group with my siblings. It’s mostly out of selfish reasons–I have a lot of evening classes this semester and I hate making dinner when I’m tired from late classes–but it’s helping out other people, too. (For example, without a dinner group or a boyfriend to feed her, Amy had fallen to eating ho-hos and the like for dinner.)

Monday is my night to cook, and for the past two weeks I’ve made Croc-Pot meals since I can do them quickly when I get home. Today, I made some bbq chicken, and it was merrily cooking all day long. It also turned out kind of crazy because I didn’t have my house key on me for various reasons and had to wait for the person who had my house key (Wesley) to come let me into my own home. It was a little sad.

(As an aside, I just learned how to spell Croc-Pot.)

But I promised a story about Kyle, so now that I’ve got those other mildly amusing and tangential details out of the way, I will deliver. I was finishing up the mashed potatoes and green beans to go with the chicken when Kyle got home. He asked me “What’s for dinner?” to which I dutifully responded, “Mashed potatoes and green beans.”

I had assumed (again, I keep doing this) that he could smell the BBQ chicken, or perhaps that he had seen me put it in the Croc-Pot this morning. But as I said this, I saw his face fall a little bit. He evidently thought better of asking for meat (I’ve been known to make vegetarian meals in the past when I didn’t have meat on hand), and just kind of wandered off into the next room.

I could have said something, but I decided to let him go on thinking that I had only made mashed potatoes and green beans for dinner. Because I’m loving like that.

When I called everybody to dinner, Kyle stood over the table, looked at the green beans, mashed potatoes, and then turned a suspicious gaze onto the covered Croc-Pot. But he still didn’t say anything. It was at this point that I turned to him and said, “Oh, by the way, we also have chicken.”

He heaved a huge sigh of relief. “I thought you really had only made green beans and mashed potatoes!”

As if I would serve mashed potatoes and green beans without meat.

But I’m not going to lie, it kind of made my day.

In Kyle’s defense, he says that he didn’t want to sound ungrateful by saying something to the effect of “That’s all we’re eating?!” But in his head he was really thinking “Seriously?! That’s it?!”

4 thoughts on “Another Kyle Story

Leave a Reply

