Pay it Forward

Today, I made another great and marvelous contribution to the world: I taught my sister-in-law how to make homemade macaroni and cheese.

Macaroni and cheese, the homemade kind, is a comfort food. (The boxed stuff is a too-lazy-to-cook-sorry-I’m-the-chef food. Not that I don’t own and eat it myself, but it is what it is.) The real stuff, though, makes my bad days better, improves mediocre days, and makes good days great. At the end of the day I think the world would be a little happier if everybody could come home and make delicious mac and cheese after every crappy day.

So I have spread the joy and comfort of mac and cheese to one more individual, who can in turn make it for many more. I like to think it’s my own way of paying it forward to the world. You can thank me later.

2 thoughts on “Pay it Forward

    • It’s a basic recipe: just a white sauce (from a roux) that you add cheddar cheese to. Add pepper and lots of salt until it tastes delicious. I just eyeball the recipe–I never make it the same way twice. It’s the way Momma taught me how to do it.

Leave a Reply

