Golden Ticket

Last week, my church had a broadcast for all the women in the church. The second counselor in the First Presidency, Dieter F. Uctdorf, gave a talk to the women where he counseled us not to look for a “golden ticket” in life. He used the term golden ticket in reference to the Roald Dahl book Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, but specifically said not to look forward to a moment in time when you think that everything will be fixed. He recommended that we look at the now, and enjoy what there is going on.

I found this to be an extremely timely message for myself as I have been looking forward to graduation as my “golden ticket.” When I graduate I will no longer ever be stress! I will have no more homework! Life will be peaches always! I’ve been looking forward to April with an intensity that’s really not good. The fact is that life will probably be about as peaches as it is now. I may or may not have a full-time job lined up depending on whether a grant from the NSF comes through. If the grant doesn’t come through, I’ll have to find or make work, which is quite challenging in today’s job market in Provo. Kyle will still have a year left of school, so in some ways I’ll be in stasis, unable to make a firm choice about graduate school or my future until we have a better idea of where we’re going after he graduates.

As I contemplated these things, it hit me that I need to spend more time focusing on the good things that are happening now. If I hold onto graduation as this magical moment where everything will be wonderful, I will be really disappointed when I realize how much of life is left after college. Because the fact is that life is always a little challenging, but if we rise to the challenge and appreciate the good things, then we will have a positive life.

Now the challenge is to apply these grand words–but I believe that I am capable.

One thought on “Golden Ticket

Leave a Reply

