Scholarships and Motivation

Once upon a time, my freshman year I came to college with a one year scholarship that covered tuition. At the end of my freshman year I had a 3.8ish GPA, which in BYU-land means a half-pay scholarship. In order to keep my scholarship, I needed to have a GPA above a 3.7. This meant that very few B’s were acceptable.

This also meant that I was perpetually stressed out for my first three years of college. I may have had many exchanges like “I can’t get a B in OChem! I could lose my scholarship! What will I do then?!” and made some despairing comments like “An A- is the end of the woooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooorld!” or “I can’t turn in an assignment late–they’ll dock points!”

No, I don’t do melodrama, why do you ask?

But then this magical thing happened. I got a scholarship for my senior year. And I don’t have to get another one.

All of a sudden, I find myself realizing just how acceptable B’s are. What? I got an 3.5 out of 5 on that assignment? That’s ok, C’s get degrees, right? I may not be able to finish that annobib in time? Psssh, it’s only taking off like five points.

I never realized how motivating my scholarship was until I didn’t have to get it again. My life has become magnificently less stressed. I should have stopped trying to get scholarships years ago.

Leave a Reply

