Setting the Expectation Bar Appropriately

So I’m not a big fan of wedding receptions in general. I can’t think of one that I was really thrilled to go. I’m just not a party person. I don’t like large groups, and I especially don’t like large groups of people I don’t know. But I go because I want to be supportive, and I usually really do think that the two individuals getting married is a good thing. (I am, on the other hand, a big fan of the actual wedding.)

I have discovered that my lack of enthusiasm sets my expectations really low. And when your expectations are that low, it’s really quite simple to exceed them. So in reality what happens is that you go in without much enthusiasm, you eat the free food, you actually mingle with the few people that you know and whose company you enjoy, and you come out an hour later generally cheerier than you were before.

I have a co-worker who swears by this philosophy in seeing movies, too.

In the meantime, I intend on keeping my grouchy demeanor where wedding receptions are concerned. It makes them pass by more pleasantly.

Leave a Reply

