Dean’s List

So it turns out that you actually can get on awards lists at BYU, all you need is a 4.0 (I imagine that’s how you get full-pay scholarships, too). Last semester I made it on the Dean’s List for the Visual Arts department with my five shiny A’s. It was actually the most amusing academic letter I’ve ever received.

Some of the highlights:
“We recognize that these laurels are won by effort, dedication, and self-discipline.”

And then a quote from Brigham Young. “We might ask, when shall we cease to learn? I will give you my opinion about it; never, never… We shall never cease to learn, unless we apostatize from the religion of Jesus Christ.” Trust Brother Brigham, who has a reputation for, shall we say, straight-forwardness, to put it bluntly.

So maybe it’s asking a lot to get a raucous laugh out of a form letter from the university, but it did make me chuckle when I read it. And I was pleased to receive it.

Leave a Reply

