Snippets

Last week my visiting teachers came to visit me, and one of them offered to go on walks with me in the mornings. She’s also a stay at home mom, and her daughter is a year older than Ruby. We went walking on Thursday and it was very pleasant. It’s nice to make new friends.

I taught my first lesson as an official Relief Society teacher on Sunday. It was on President Uchtdorf’s talk “The Merciful Obtain Mercy” and I felt that it went pretty well. I felt the spirit while I taught, which is the real measure of a good lesson. It helped that I was more comfortable with the topic (mercy and forgiveness) than I had been with the last topic (gratitude; for some reason this one was hard for me to make work as well). Some nice people said some nice things to me about the lesson, so that helped.

Still on Sunday, after three hours of general fussiness and on-and-off napping, by the time church came to a close, Ruby was finally asleep. The downside of this was that putting her in her carseat inevitably wakes her up.

Boo.

So I said to Kyle, “I will carry her and walk home.” At first he tried to say, No, I can get her back to sleep again, but as he faced the wake-me-up carseat, he turned back to me and asked me if I wouldn’t really mind walking.

It’s maybe a ten minute walk home, and in my estimation, a ten minute walk is totally worth it to keep a sleeping baby sleeping, so I happily walked home and Ruby napped for the next forty or so minutes.

On Monday, we went out to visit my cousins in Eagle Mountain for dinner and so that Kyle could subject them to get their input for a homework assignment. It was lots of fun, but we were there from about 6:30 to 10 pm, and Ruby took maybe a 30 minute nap the whole time. She then came home so worked up about being tired that she refused to sleep (read: screamed) until 1 in the morning.

It was awful.

But Kyle wins Good Husband Points for staying up with her until 1 and letting me get a couple of hours of sleep.

Needless to say, she slept in on Tuesday.

Kyle and I have followed the news on Sandy pretty closely over the weekend since we’ve both got friends on the east coast. At one point Kyle expressed surprise that a category 1 hurricane could do so much damage. I got to whip out my newly acquired Natural Disaster knowledge to inform him that rain falling on the earth is a lot like water pouring onto a sponge. The sponge absorbs most of it. Unless you have metric tonnes of asphalt and metal buildings on top of your proverbial sponge–then it’s like rain falling on a shrink wrapped sponge. The asphalt stops the earth from absorbing much water, which results in massive flooding even though the hurricane wasn’t technically super powerful. A category 1 hurricane hitting verdant South Carolina and a category 1 hurricane hitting the northeast, which is basically one big city, are two very different monsters.

Also, since we have the infrastructure and capacity to warn the residents about the hurricane before the flooding became a big problem–unlike in many developing nations–the cost in lives of Sandy was quite low. Because of that very same infrastructure, the cost in money will be extensive. If something similar happened in a developing country, it wouldn’t cost as much money to repair, but the number of deaths would likely have been much higher. So there’s that, for whatever it’s worth.

And yesterday I decided to overcome my fear of people I don’t know very well and generally discomfort in group spaces and I went to my ward’s playgroup, even though Ruby is way too small to play. The point of playgroup is dual–to get your kids off you back while they’re playing with other kids, and for all the moms to get adult conversation in.

It was actually really nice. I got the chance to speak to a number of the sisters in my ward that I only vaguely knew, and it was good for me to get out of my shell and talk to people. I think I’ll try to go back next week.

2 thoughts on “Snippets

  1. I feel smarter about hurricane’s now! I was like Kyle, surprised that Sandy was a Category 1 and seeing all the destruction and flooding in New York and hearing about it on twitter. Your explanation makes so much sense ^_^

Leave a Reply

