Thanksgiving

I have this terrible habit of taking trips and then being too tired to blog about them (see my trip to Virginia in May…).

But not Thanksgiving! I’m changing my lazy ways!

Kyle’s family had a reunion down at Zion’s National Park. They rented a lodge that was lovely and most of his extended family showed up at some point during the weekend. Kyle’s sister who lives in Virginia flew out with her husband and their 16 month son last Tuesday. Kyle picked them up from the airport and we went out to eat. Their son is so adorable. The only word he knows is “Uh oh!” and he would say it over and over again and I thought he was just so cute. He woke up at 5 am the next morning–still on Virginia time–and just sat in the crib saying “uh oh” over and over again.

We drove down to Zion’s on Wednesday and stayed the weekend. Miss Ruby was not a fan of the car after the first two or three hours. She just wanted out of that car seat, thankyouverymuch. Once we arrived, I never wanted for people to hold Ruby. All of Kyle’s cousins and many of his aunts and uncles just wanted to hold and cuddle her. I pretty much fed her, changed diapers, and put her down for naps and sleep the whole weekend. It was really fabulous.

It was relaxing, which is my favorite kind of vacation.

We went on a hike in Zion’s on Friday, which all the kids came on. There are four great grandchildren ages four and under (Ruby being the youngest, and the only one that can’t walk). I carried Miss Ruby in my Baby Hawk, and on the return trip, Kyle ended up carrying our nephew back to give his dad a break. The terrain tended to be a little rough for little toddler feet. I joked that he was trying to make up for the fact that he wasn’t the one carrying Ruby in the backpack. Kyle’s sister said she wanted to make the same joke, but didn’t want to say anything that would make Kyle stop carrying him.

And that’s most of what I can say about it. I chatted, got to know Kyle’s family better, played games, watched James Bond, and ate food. It was a lovely trip, and Zion’s was beautiful. My only regret was that we didn’t have a chance to see more of the park. Southern Utah is so beautiful.

One thought on “Thanksgiving

  1. I loved seeing you! One of my favorite parts of the holiday was the hike and I was so very impressed with you and the baby Hawk and the 3 mile hike. I hope Ann puts up some of the hiking pictures on facebook so I can steal them >.>

Leave a Reply

