Sleep Deprivation

I’ve found myself saying recently that everybody TALKS about how new parents don’t get a lot of sleep. It’s a joke culturally. But it’s a whole ‘nother ballgame to actually BE that sleep deprived new parent. Going months without an uninterrupted night’s sleep is a brand new experience for me.

And this week, Little Miss Ruby has decided to revisit her newborn habits and has been waking up every two hours. Let me just say that I did not miss waking up every two hours. She must be teething or something, but this is driving me crazy and making me a giant Crank M’Tank in the mornings. Do not talk to me right after I’ve woken up from a night of waking up every two hours. Something will inevitably be your fault and I will have something to say about it.

Kyle was a dear this morning and put Ruby in her crib with some toys. He watched her until it was naptime (usually an hour and a half after she wakes up) so that I could get more sleep. He did this even though he was working. He’s such a good husband.

On a largely unrelated note, I kicked something last night while I was walking around in a darkened room and thought that I might have broken my toe. It hurts a little less now, and Kyle and I decided that it’s not as gross and swollen as it would be if it was broken. So I’m going to ignore it for another day or two and see what happens. It does hurt though.

And last night in my tired state I may have tried to devise a way to blame Kyle for my toe. Sometimes I’m not as gracious as I should be.

4 thoughts on “Sleep Deprivation

  1. Many years of uninterrupted sleep took its toll on me. You have my empathy. I won’t tell you that formula fed babies sleep better because that would just make me sound like an awful mother. lol

    • Meh, I know that formula fed babies are supposed to sleep better than breastfed babies. But then I’d have to pay for formula and I’m way too cheap for that when I can get food for free.

  2. The bad news is that you are going to live through every sleep deprived day. The good news is that it really doesn’t last forever (although it seems like it). Have you tried cereal? She’s pretty close to 6 months. For some babies, it makes a HUGE difference. If it consistently helped, we’d all try cereal the first week. :)

Leave a Reply

