Another Ornery Post

Because I’m an ornery person.

There’s this post going around facebook condemning moms for spending too much time on their iPhones and not enough time watching their special snowflake children spin in circles for the bajillionth time this week.

But I don’t get it.

I mean, I see my special snowflake daughter eat paper and back scoot about a thousand times a day. I don’t spend my time wasting away on the iPhone, but that is primarily because my phone is a piece of junk that accidentally got dropped in the snow this winter and has begun missing calls and texts (let’s blame this if you’ve texted or called me and I haven’t replied). I really would like a fancy shamncy smart phone. Because the Bible says “Do not covet your neighbor’s wife” not “Do not covet your sister-in-law’s Windows phone or your brother’s Droid.” That’s a legitimate distinction, right?

And you know what? If I had an iPhone I’d probably play with it while Ruby did these things. Because I’m a human being, and sometimes I have looked the my sweet baby’s face one too many times today, and I’d like to pretend for a few minutes that I’m not constantly monitoring what she’s putting in her mouth (I draw the line at choking hazards and electronic cords, but not much before). It’s why I have a husband, so that he can watch her when he gets home from school. It’s why bedtime is at seven o’clock so that I can spend some time decompressing and not being on perpetual baby duty for a while. It’s why I call Amy up and invite her over multiple times a week so that somebody else can hold my dearest little one.

Because spending hours on end with a non-verbal being whose first instinct is to put everything in her mouth can be a little wearing.

Also, teething.

Sometimes I need a little me time. And I don’t feel bad about it.

I mean, why else would I be up at nearly midnight while my husband and baby have been asleep since 7 pm?

As a side note, when I complained about this to Amy she encouraged me to be less judgmental about it. Imagine that! So naturally I waited two weeks and then complained about it on the internet. That’s what the internet is for, right?

One thought on “Another Ornery Post

  1. I’ve seen so many responses like yours to that ridiculous facebook post and I say, “Hallelujah, AMEN!” I also like your use of the terms “Special Snowflake” and “Eat Paper” in conjunction with one another. I commend you for waiting two weeks. I wouldn’t have waited two days >.>

Leave a Reply

