Receipts

This morning, Ruby discovered that I keep receipts in a pocked of my purse that she can get into. She gleefully pulled receipts out, crushed them in her small hands, and stuck them in her mouth.

As it approached naptime, Ruby was using the couch to support her as she stood reaching for me, one receipt in each hand, fell and bumped her head on the floor. Because she was already tired, she had an ugly, total melt down. I reached down to hold her, comfort her, and rock her. As she snuffled snot into my shoulder, the receipts were still clutched, one in each hand, crinkling against my shirt.

No trauma, it seemed, was worth giving up those precious receipts.

Leave a Reply

