He’s Here!

After 41 grueling weeks and 1 day (and believe me, that last week and day were particularly onerous for me), I finally went into labor. Thanks heavens! After 4.5 hours of labor, our beautiful baby boy, Sherman Jeffrey Meeks, was born into this world this past Saturday, May 3, 2014. He weighed 8 lbs 8 oz, was 21.5 in long (which is apparently in the 97th percentile, which makes me wonder if he’ll be tall like his daddy), and he’s our little angel.

This birth was harder than Ruby’s was. I think it’s a combination of the fact that it wasn’t a water birth, that he was well over a pound heavier than Ruby (who weighed 7 lbs 3 oz), and that it was a faster labor. I’ll write up the whole birth story later, but suffice it to say that I was incredibly grateful and worn by the time he arrived. It wasn’t the euphoric, near magical experience that Ruby’s was, but it was miraculous in a different way. By the time it was over, I definitely felt like I had labored. Kyle got to catch him, and it’s cool to hear Kyle tell me the story of seeing Sherman being born and getting to catch him as he came out into the world.

I’m glad that he’s finally here. It’s beautiful to be on the other side of pregnancy.

One thought on “He’s Here!

Leave a Reply

