The Inadequacy of Goodbye

How do you put all of the feelings, the love and care that you have for a person into a word, a hug, a goodbye?

Lives touch each other, but sometimes people move in and out of your life. We may be connected by blood, but that doesn’t mean you’ll always live close.

So I said goodbye.

And this time, goodbye came with the knowledge that I don’t know when I’ll see you again. I know I will, but when? Money and distance are large barriers at this point in my life; and traveling with small children is a challenge.

So I said goodbye.

And I hope that the things that word fails to adequately express, the ways that I will miss you, are somehow communicated, even though the words and gestures of love are small. Because I care, and I will miss you.

Best of luck in Florida, may God bless you and keep you safe.

One thought on “The Inadequacy of Goodbye

Leave a Reply

